Related Collections:

• Prints, engravings, pictures, silver and ceramics of New College are held in the Pictures and Chattels department which also has records of the college’s memorials; further details are at Treasures & Chattels | New College (ox.ac.uk)

• A large collection of images relating to of New College can be found on Oxfordshire History Centre’s Picture Oxon website: https://pictureoxon.com/index.php

• The libraries of the old Hertford College and Magdalen Hall are held by Hertford College and are currently being catalogued. Further information can be found here: https://www.hertford.ox.ac.uk/and-more/rarebooks-archives/rare-books

• New College has a considerable manuscript collection, with most of the medieval items catalogued in H. O. Coxe, Catalogus codicum MSS. qui in collegiis aulisque Oxoniensibus hodie adservantur (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1852).

• Portraits of College Wardens can be viewed on the ArtUK website at https://artuk.org/

• Oxford University Archives may hold records relevant to New College, and especially to its members; further guidance can be found at Guides to Oxford University Archives | Bodleian Libraries

• Further related material can be found through Oxfordshire History Centre’s online catalogues at https://www.oxfordshire.gov.uk/residents/leisure-and-culture/history/oxfordshire-history-centre; & through the National Archives’ Discovery site: https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/

General reading on New College & its School

John Buxton and Penry Williams (eds.), New College, Oxford, 1379–1979 (Oxford: New College, Oxford, 1979)

Christopher Tyerman (ed.), New College (London: Third Millennium, 2010)

A. H. Smith, New College, Oxford, and its Buildings (London: Oxford University Press, 1952)

Hastings Rashdall and Robert S. Rait, New College (London: F. E. Robinson, 1901)

Christopher Woodforde, The Stained Glass of New College, Oxford (London: Oxford University Press, 1951)

Hereford B. George, New College, 1856–1906 (London: Henry Frowde, 1906)

Arthur Octavius Prickard, New College, Oxford (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1906)

A. H. M. Jones, 'New College Oxford', in The Victoria History of the Counties of England, Oxford, 1954, v 3, pp 144-162; available from British History Online.

Francis W. Steer, The Archives of New College, Oxford: A Catalogue (London: Phillimore, 1974)

Virginia Davis, William Wykeham: A Life (London: Hambledon Continuum, 2007)

Mackenzie E. C. Walcott, William of Wykeham and his Colleges (Winchester: D. Nutt, 1852)

William Poole and Christopher Skelton-Foord (eds.), Geometry and Astronomy in New College, Oxford: On the Quatercentenary of the Savilian Professorships 1619–2019 (Oxford: New College Library & Archives, 2019)

Jonathan Edmunds, New College Brats (Oxford 1996)

Matthew Jenkinson, New College School, Oxford: A History (Oxford: Shire Publications, 2013)

W. F. Oakeshott (ed.), Oxford Stone Restored: The Work of the Oxford Historic Buildings Fund, 1957–1974 (Oxford: Trustees of the Oxford Historic Buildings Fund, 1975), pp. 83–8

Printed sources for Alumni History

Emden, A. B. A Biographical Register of the University of Oxford to A.D. 1500, 1957.

Emden, A. B. A Biographical Register of the University of Oxford, A.D. 1501 to 1540, 1974.

Foster, Joseph. Alumni Oxonienses 1500-1714, 1891-2

Foster, Joseph. Alumni Oxonienses 1715-1886, 1891-2

Foster, Joseph. Oxford Men and Their Colleges, 1880-1892, Illustrated with Portraits and Views, 1893.

• A more detailed guide to researching past members of the University, including links to digitised versions of Foster’s Alumni Oxonienses, can be found on the Oxford University Archives website at https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/oua/enquiries/members-guide

General Reading on the history of Oxford University

Aston, T. H., et al. The History of the University of Oxford, 1984.

Brockliss, L. W. B. The University of Oxford: a History, 2016.

Hibbert, Christopher, & Hibbert, Edward. The Encyclopaedia of Oxford, 1988.

Pantin, W.A. Oxford Life in Oxford Archives, 1972.